C.C. Benison
Ten Lords A-Leaping (Book 3, The Twelve Deaths of Christmas series)

Book Cover

The third in C.C. Benison's Twelve Deaths of Christmas series, inspired by the popular Christmas Carol "The Twelve Days of Christmas," features the enormously likeable widower and Anglican priest Tom Christmas — Father Christmas to South Devon's wiseasses — who seeks haven for himself and his daughter in an English village following the murder of his wife. Trouble is, wherever there is Christmas — or at least Tom Christmas — someone is likely to turn up dead.

C.C. Benison is nominated for the 2014 Libris Award

Praise for C.C. Benison's Eleven Pipers Piping:

"Benison successfully applies a classic Agatha Christie framework to a contemporary setting in his impressive second whodunit featuring Rev. Tom Christmas (after 2011's Twelve Drummers Drumming) ... The interplay among the residents of Thornford Regis creates a rich psychological background and gives this entry even more depth than its predecessor." —Publisher's Weekly, starred review

"Benison returns with a smashingly clever sophomore entry ... Readers will be crazy about this vicar with the funny name, his young daughter Miranda, and Madrun, his earnest housekeeper/cook ... a leisurely and memorable read." —Library Journal Review

"[A] must-read for lovers of classic English mysteries, chock full of suspects, red herrings and details of village life." —Kirkus Reviews

Praise for C.C. Benison's Twelve Drummers Drumming:

"[S]plendid first in a new whodunit series . . . An intelligent and empathic protagonist and skillful prose make this a winner." —Publisher's Weekly (starred review)

"[C. C.] Benison does an admirable job balancing humor with suspense. . . . Father Christmas's first case leaves you eager for his next." —The Wall Street Journal

"This marvelous series debut by Ellis Award-winner Benison (Death at Buckingham Palace) is a satisfying, character-driven read. The author presents a full plate of options, leaving the reader puzzling through the possible motives of an intriguing ensemble cast. The likable vicar and his Nancy Drew–loving daughter should become reader favorites. Highly recommended." —Library Journal

"Who knew that a successor to Agatha Christie was living and writing in Winnipeg? Twelve Drummers Drumming will please the most discriminating lover of the traditional British mystery. It has a village, a vicar, atmosphere to burn and a perfectly constructed puzzle plot. . . This smart, well-written book promises a fine series." —The Globe & Mail

Length: 258 pp
Category: Fiction/Mystery
Setting: England
Period: Contemporary
Publication Date: October 2013

North American English rights, Bantam

For all other rights contact The Cooke Agency.
C.C. Benison

C.C. Benison is a pseudonym of Doug Whiteway, author of the Her Majesty Investigates mystery series. International rights to the series were sold to the UK (Macmillan), Spain (Plaza y Janes), Germany (Econ Taschenbuch Verlag) and Japan (Hayakawa Publishing). Doug has worked as a full-time journalist for numerous newspapers and magazines in Canada and has won a National Magazine Award and the Arthur Ellis Award for best first mystery novel. The award-winning author lives in Winnipeg.