The Cooke Agency
Jeremy Duns
Free Country (Paul Dark, book 2)



 




Free Country (Paul Dark, book 2) by Jeremy DunsIt is May 1969, and MI6 double agent Paul Dark stands alongside mourners at the funeral of Sir Colin Templeton; the former head of the organisation, the man he knew simply as ‘Chief’—and the man he killed in cold blood.

Dark has got away with it, evading the attentions of both his fellow British spies and the KGB operatives to whom he long ago pledged loyalty. But that precarious security is about to be shattered, launching Dark back into the heart of an international conspiracy and making him a target for both exposure and assassination. Desperate to escape his predicament, Dark gambles everything on one last throw of the dice, exposing his Soviet handler to the British. But before long, he finds he has no choice but to go on the run again, taking him to the labyrinthine backstreets of Rome. The race is on to stop a deadly plot that dates back to the early years of the Cold War.

The second part of the Paul Dark trilogy, and sequel to the critically acclaimed Free Agent, Free Country is another sweat-soaked Sixties-set spy thriller in the tradition of Len Deighton and Frederick Forsyth.




Praise for Jeremy Duns’ Free Agent:

“Jeremy Duns offers an entirely original and fascinating take on the classic spy novel in this provocative, fast-paced thriller. He is a compelling new voice in suspense fiction.” —Jeff Abbott, author of Panic and Run

“Terse, sardonic, and knowing, Free Agent is a take-no-prisoners exploration of loyalty, duplicity and love. I dare anyone to put this book down after reading the first electrifying chapter.” —Eric Van Lustbader, author of The Ninja and The Bourne Sanction

Free Agent is a sleek, fast-paced tale of espionage and international intrigue that held me utterly entranced. Duns is an exceptional talent. As I rapidly turned the pages, I was transported back to the heyday of spy fiction and reminded of the best of Le Carre, Deighton, and Forsyth. Recommended without reservation.” —Christopher Reich, author of Numbered Account and Rules of Deception

“An authentic espionage novel with accurate tradecraft and intelligence operatives who act with intelligence. If you like vintage John le Carre, you’ll love Free Agent. Set in the Cold War, packed with history and tension, it’s a must-read for any true spy-novel fan.” —David Morrell, author of First Blood and The Brotherhood of the Rose

“Utterly riveting, Free Agent by Jeremy Duns is an international espionage thriller par excellence. Lyrical prose, unforgettable characters, and a fascinating plot that doesn’t release the panting reader until the last page makes this spy ride unforgettable. Free Agent is the beginning of a classic series that’s sure to be a huge hit.” —Gayle Lynds, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Spymaster and The Coil

“A wholly engrossing and sophisticated spy novel set against a forgotten corner of 20th century history. Fascinating and compelling—Jeremy Duns is a name to watch.” —William Boyd, author of Restless and Any Human Heart




Genre/Category: fiction, thriller



Canadian rights, Simon & Schuster UK
UK rights, Simon & Schuster UK
US rights, Viking
TV adaptation rights, BBC

For all other rights contact Greene & Heaton.


   
Jeremy Duns was born in 1973 and grew up mainly in Africa and Asia. He read English literature at St Catherine's College, Oxford, after which he worked as a journalist in Brussels for seven years. He lives in Stockholm, Sweden, with his wife and two children.
 












Free Agent (Paul Dark, book 1)