logo

Thomas Olde Heuvelt
HEX



Book Cover

Hugo award-winning author Thomas Olde Heuvelt's English language debut, sold at auction to Hodder in the UK and TOR in North America, HEX is an incredible, horrifying thriller perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Adam Nevill and Stephen King.

Whoever is born here, is doomed to stay until death. Whoever comes to stay, never leaves.

Welcome to Black Spring, the seemingly picturesque Hudson Valley town haunted by the Black Rock Witch, a seventeenth-century woman whose eyes and mouth are sewn shut. If the stitches are ever cut open, the story goes, the whole town will die. Blind and silenced, the witch walks the streets and enters homes at will. She stands next to children's beds for nights on end. So accustomed to her have the townsfolk become that they often forget she’s there. Or what a threat she poses.

The curse must not be allowed to spread. The elders of Black Spring have used high-tech surveillance to quarantine the town. Frustrated with being kept in lockdown, the town's teenagers decide to break their strict regulations and go viral with the haunting. But, in so doing, they send the town spiraling into a dark nightmare.


Praise for Thomas Olde Heuvelt's HEX:

“[S]imilarities to early Stephen King . . . Spielbergian in the way Olde Heuvelt shows supernatural goings-on in the midst of everyday life . . . It’s a fabulous, unforgettable conceit and Olde Heuvelt makes the most of it” —The Guardian

HEX is creepy and gripping and original, sure to be one of the top horror novels of 2016.” —George R.R. Martin

“Totally, brilliantly original.” —Stephen King

“Mr. Olde Heuvelt’s book was originally published in Dutch, but he has rewritten it very successfully for its American setting. Yet it keeps a touch of strangeness, of alienness, avoiding sub-Stephen King clichés. He has written five novels already, and publishers should be lining up to translate them.” —The Wall Street Journal

“Olde Heuvelt’s youthful presence is a sign that new generations of writers are nobly carrying forward the Great Work of Modern Fantastika . . . Olde Heuvelt is fully capable of creating many suspenseful, nerve-wracking scenes that lead inexorably to his planned, albeit unpredictable outcome. Moreover, his adoption of the North American venue is cannily done, with no false steps a writer working from Europe might be expected to make. The whole setting and events cohere beautifully.” —Locus Magazine

“Olde Heuvelt offers up a truly terrifying parable about mankind’s depravity and the depths of evil of which we are capable. The story is not merely unsettling, it is horrifying.” —Kirkus Reviews

“[I]ntriguing premise . . . Olde Heuvelt develops his characters enough to give their tragic lives resonance” —Publishers Weekly

“[O]ne of the most original, clever, and terrifying books to be published in the 21st century” —New York Journal of Books

“Hidden tensions and human weakness trigger a witch-hunt that boils over into persecution, scapegoating and a shocking denouement. A powerfully spooky piece of writing.” —Financial Times

“A great read for fans of The Blair Witch Project or The Crucible.” —Booklist

“Equal parts Stephen King and The Cabin in the Woods, Thomas Olde Heuvelt’s novel is a pop page-turner with an intriguingly weird ambience . . . a funny, surprising and eerie novel.” —SFX

“Thomas is a great writer, the next genre superstar.”
Doctor Who series author Paul Cornell

HEX is reminiscent of vintage Stephen King, and I can think of no higher praise. Chilling, moving and, in its odd way, not a little profound.”
—John Connolly, #1 international bestselling author of the Charlie Parker Thriller series

“[A] harrowing fable about belief, tradition, and societal collapse, and promises great and terrible things for English-language readers sampling their first poisoned-laced bite of the Dutch author’s novel-length work . . . HEX is horrific and disturbing, yes, but its horror is far more complex than simple bloodletting.” —Barnes & Noble Sci Fi & Fantasy Blog

“Thomas Olde Heuvelt’s HEX is a treat for all fans of dark fiction. We are now finally able to enjoy the terrifying yet relatable fiction that the Dutch have known about for a long time. Thomas puts a modern spin on the witch’s curse story that forces us to take a closer look at ourselves. Who is really evil after all? It may not be who you think. This is just the beginning and I can’t wait to read his next one.” —Ann VanderMeer

HEX takes the horror/thriller genre to a whole new level. It’s deeply unsettling, wholly original, brilliantly written and contains scenes that will haunt you for a long time to come. I dare you to read it.” —Sarah Lotz, author of The Three

“Thick atmosphere, disturbing imagery and an almost unbearable tension pervade this narrative. Olde Heuvelt develops a series of indelible scenes as the citizens of Black Spring are pushed to their psychological limits in dealing with the malignant presence among them. . . . truly nightmare-inducing”
—Shelf Awareness

HEX is a thoughtful horror story, and one that is all the more chilling for its uncompromising view of humanity. As the pathway of dreaded choices narrows for the protagonists, the reader has to wonder, ‘What would I have done?’ I found the story and its ending uncompromising and inevitable. . . HEX is a book that answers the question, ‘Where does evil come from?’”
—Robin Hobb, bestselling author of the Realm of the Enderlings series

“Olde Heuvelt’s HEX sets ancient magic against contemporary technology to create a kind of dark fairy tale that seems ultimately believable in today’s world. A terrific debut novel.”
—Jeffrey Ford, author of The Portrait Of Mrs. Charbuque

“Thomas Olde Heuvelt’s HEX is the BEST horror debut since John Ajvide Lindqvist’s Let the Right One In” —Alan Kelly

“Hands-down the scariest book I’ve read in a long while. It will more than satisfy cravings for classic horror!” —Words and Worm Holes

“[A} bewitching novel . . . HEX stunts in every sense of the word”
Diabolique Magazine


Dutch praise for Thomas Olde Heuvelt's HEX:

Winner, Fantasywereld Best Novel of the Year Award (2013)

"HEX brilliantly exposes how psychological fear can make a modern society spiral into dark, medieval practices. . . . Terrifying and tantalizingly good—the sensation of 2013!" —Crimezone

"Gruesomely well-written, this book will crawl under your skin and don't let go until the very end. Whether you like thrillers or fantasy, HEX has to be read" —Cultuur Nieuws

"A carefully and well-constructed novel about human evil, degenerating modern society into a mix of The Garden of Earthly Delights by Hieronymus Bosch and Dante's Hell" —Brabants Dagblad

"A frightening read, combining the old witch's theme with 21st century technology in the most original way . . . A strong diversity of characters and story elements, building up to an overwhelming climax" —Biblion

"One of the most original and terrifying books in recent years—HEX is a hit. It shows deep psychological insight, and is guaranteed to cause some sleepless nights" —De Leestafel


Praise for Thomas Olde Heuvelt's The Boy Who Cast No Shadow:

Winner, Paul Harland Prize 2009
Best Novelette nominee, Hugo Awards 2013
Honorable mention, Science Fiction & Fantasy Translation Awards 2012

"At Oxygen Books we're privileged to read some of the very best writers, past, present and future. . . . Thomas Olde Heuvelt is one such writer."
The City Lit Café, Oxygen Books


Genre/Category: Horror
Length: 384 pages (English hc)
Publication Date: April 2016 (English hc)



Dutch rights, Luitingh-Sijthoff
North America English rights, Tor Books
UK & Commonwealth rights, Hodder & Stoughton
Brazil Portuguese rights, DarkSide
Simplified Chinese rights, Yongzheng Books
Czech rights, Argo
World French rights, Bragelonne
German rights, Heyne
Hungarian rights, Maxim Publishing
Italian rights, TRE60
Japanese rights, Oakla Publishing
Polish rights, Zisk i S-ka
Russian rights, Exmo
Serbian rights, Vulkan Izdavastvo
Turkish rights, Nemesis Kitap
Ukrainian rights, Krajina MRIY

Comic book rights, IDW Publishing
Film/TV rights, Gary Dauberman

For all other rights contact The Cooke Agency.

Thomas Olde Heuvelt

Dutch novelist Thomas Olde Heuvelt (1983) is the author of five novels and many short stories of the fantastic. His short fiction has appeared in English, Dutch and Chinese, among other languages. He won the 2015 Hugo Award for Best Novelette, has been awarded the Harland Award (for best Dutch fantasy) on three occasions, and has been nominated for a World Fantasy Award.

Olde Heuvelt wrote his debut novel at the age of sixteen. He studied English Language and American Literature in his hometown of Nijmegen and at the University of Ottawa in Canada. Since then, he has become a bestselling author in The Netherlands and Belgium. He calls Roald Dahl and Stephen King the literary heroes of his childhood, who created in him a love for dark fiction.

HEX is Olde Heuvelt’s worldwide debut.

You can visit him online at http://en.oldeheuvelt.com.