Guy Vanderhaeghe
Daddy Lenin and Other Stories





Daddy Lenin by Guy Vanderhaeghe WINNER OF THE 2015 GOVERNOR GENERAL'S AWARD FOR FICTION, THE THIRD IN HIS CAREER

Celebrated as one of Canada's best storytellers, multi-award-winning author Guy Vanderhaeghe follows his bestselling epic frontier trilogy with a virtuoso collection of stories that brilliantly holds a mirror up to our contemporary lives. For readers of Alice Munro, Alistair MacLeod, Annie Proulx and her story "Brokeback Mountain."

Set in western Canada, in both urban and rural locations, these nine stories are both timely and timeless and showcase Vanderhaeghe's supreme talent as a storyteller and poignant observer of the human condition. His wit and insights are razor sharp.

When a teenage boy breaks out of the strict confines of his family, his bid for independence leads him in over his head. He learns about life in short order and there is no turning back. An actor's penchant for hiding behind a role, on and off stage, is tested to the limits and his discovery finally places him to face to face with the truth. With his mother hospitalized for a nervous condition and his father away on long work stints, a boy is sent to another family for his meals. His gradually building relationship with a teenage daughter who has been left handicapped from Polio opens unexpected doors to the world.

In the powerful title story, a middle-aged man remeets his former adviser at university, a charismatic and domineering left-wing professor they dub Daddy Lenin. As their tense reunion progresses, secrets from the past painfully revise remembered events and threaten to topple the scaffolding of a marriage.



Praise for Guy Vanderhaeghe’s Daddy Lenin and Other Stories:

Winner, Governor General's Award for Fiction (2015)

“[B]racingly good, largely because Vanderhaeghe’s characters crackle with life. . . . There’s also the author’s beguiling, peeling-an-onion approach: a master of pacing, he teases out the facts, and the truth, as the story proceeds. Overall, these tales are straight-ahead and approachable, without the flights of fancy and literary trickery found in some contemporary short fiction.” —Toronto Star

"In Daddy Lenin, master storyteller Guy Vanderhaeghe strips away the layers to reveal deeper, and sometimes darker truths about our ways, and our world. Brilliant and breathtaking." —Terry Fallis

"Guy Vanderhaeghe is without a doubt one of Canada's finest writers. In this dynamic collection of stories, he is at the top of his game; funny, smart, and wickedly insightful. A virtuoso performance." —Steven Galloway

“With Daddy Lenin and Other Stories, Vanderhaeghe leaves the cowboys behind to examine other archetypes of masculinity. . . .These are stories about boys becoming men, about screwing up and starting over, about looking back and moving forward, and—above all—about what it means to be a man. . . . These are complex characters who embody a particular literary strain of working-class, straight-talking, hard-drinking male, even when only the last qualifier applies. On second thought, maybe Vanderhaeghe hasn’t abandoned his cowboys after all.” —Quill & Quire

Daddy Lenin wrestles with the seemingly intractable divide between modernity and postmodernity, between masculinity and postmasculinity, in a way that is direct and vigorous. It is an entertaining return to the form that launched its author’s literary career.” —The Globe and Mail


Praise for Guy Vanderhaeghe:

"Guy Vanderhaeghe [is] one of North America's best writers."
—Annie Proul for The Globe and Mail

"Vanderhaeghe is a superb writer who packs authenticity into every detail." —Seattle Times 

"Vanderhaeghe is a prodigiously gifted writer . . . comparable to McMurtry at his best." —Publishers Weekly



Length: 272 pages (hc)
Publication Date: April 2015




Canada English rights, McClelland & Stewart
Macedonian rights, Begemot Dooel

For all other rights contact The Cooke Agency.



Photo Credit: Margaret Vanderhaeghe
  GUY VANDERHAEGHE was born in Esterhazy, Saskatchewan, in 1951. His previous fiction includes A Good Man, The Last Crossing, The Englishman’s Boy, Things as They Are (stories), Homesick, My Present Age, and Man Descending (stories). Among the many awards he has received are the Governor General’s Awards (thrice); and, for his body of work, The Pierre Elliot Trudeau Fellowship, the Writers’ Trust Timothy Findley Award, and the Harbourfront Literary Prize. He has received many honours, including the Order of Canada.

 












Fiction:

A Good Man

The Englishman’s Boy

Homesick

The Last Crossing

Man Descending

My Present Age

Things As They Are?

The Trouble With Heroes


Plays:

Dancock’s Dance

I Had a Job I Liked. Once.